Ohangwena Region - General Information

The Ohangwena Region includes the reder of oukwanjama and a small portion of the northern part of Ondonga. The northern and western parts of the Region are the most densely populated of this essentially subsistence agricultural Region in which small scale mahangu cultivation and the keeping of cattle form the predominant activities. Although the Region depends on rainfed agriculture, other crops can be established under intensive cultivation.

The settlements in the Region straddle the good tarred road from the Angolan border to Ondangua, where it joins the Oshakati-Tsumeb trunk road. The eastern part of the Region posesses good grazing land, but the shortage of water and poor communications render it uninhabitable at present. There is a reasonable gravel road from Oshikango to Onkongo, and if a road connection linking the Region to Rundu were to be built, it would greatly increase the agricultural potential of the area.

The Region comprises of ten constituancies: Ongenga, Engela, Oshikango, Ondobe, Eenhana, Omundaungilo, Okongo, Ohangwena, Endola, Epembe.


Back to Regional Map
General Information | Statistical Data | Ohangwena Council |
Ohangwena Map       | Ohangwena Schools Table   | Ohangwena Health & Social Service Facilities